Your parish council

Catcott Parish Council meets monthly on the second Tuesday at 7pm in the Hall at Catcott Primary School. The council is responsible for local issues in the village, assessing planning applications and working with other local authorities on getting roads and footpaths repaired and other issues. The council sets an annual precept which is paid as part of your council tax. For 2018/19 the precept in Catcott was  £8,500.

The five members of the parish council were elected unopposed in May 2022:

Catcott Parish Council
5BARNETT, Geoffrey Raymond 
HALL, James Reuben 
POPLE, Lorna Jayne 
SALTER, Daniel James 
THOMPSON, Andrew Geoffrey
Duly elected
Duly elected
Duly elected
Duly elected
Duly elected

The Parish Council Website can be found via this link

You can find useful information at which is provided by the Parish.UK Network which is a Community Action Initiative

Your local council

Catcott is now part of Somerset County Council

Somerset is controlled by the Liberal Democrats

The 2022 election results can be found here:

Sedgemoor Elections

Catcott is within the King Alfred division and the 2022 election results are as follows…

King Alfred Division

GRAHAM, Charles Green Party 526
HUXTABLE, David John Conservative Party Candidate 1592
MARTIN, Matthew Henry Liberal Democrats 1709 elected
MCGINTY, Duncan Conservative Party Candidate 1423 
MUNT, Harry James Liberal Democrats 1641 elected

How to contact Somerset County Council:

Your M.P.

Catcott is within the 500 square-mile Bridgwater and West Somerset constituency. Conservative Ian Liddell-Grainger was re-elected MP in the General Election in December 2019. He was first elected to parliament in 2001 when he succeeded former cabinet minister Tom now Lord King who had represented Bridgwater for 31 years.

How to contact Ian Liddell-Grainger MP:


  • Constituency office Phone: 01278 458383
  • House of Commons Phone: 020 7219 814
  • Email:

Upcoming Events